Chart Update – 25/09/15

This week, Meghan Trainor, Ellie Goulding and Beyoncé all return and Chris Brown continues with a similar formula.

Retuning Entries

95 – From Eden by Hozier

I have already reviewed From Eden in an earlier chart review. If you want to check that out, the link is here: topfortesb.wordpress.com/2015/09/11/chart-update-110915/

91 – I Really Like You by Carly Rae Jepsen

83 – Changing by Sigma ft. Paloma Faith

79 – Up by Olly Murs ft. Demi Lovato

74 – I Didn’t Know My Own Strength by Whitney Houston

New Entries

99 – Like I’m Gonna Lose You by Meghan Trainor ft. John Legend

I think this is Meghan Trainor’s best single to date, but that isn’t really saying much. It isn’t as confrontational as All About That Bass and Lips Are Moving or as outright awful as Dear Future Husband. However, this doesn’t mean that Like I’m Gonna Lose You is brilliant. The more subdued instrumentation suits the tone of the song and it is the best retro-style track that she has done. However, John Legend is simply a better singer than Trainor on every verse. I also think that the post-chorus and chorus should have been swapped around. Overall, it isn’t bad, but it’s not good either.

97 – Stiches by Shawn Mendes

Shawn Mendes, a 17-year old Canadian singer, started out on Vine before getting a record deal and releasing his debut album this year. Stiches is the third single from that album. The groove and instrumentation on this song is very good, much better than most teenage artists recently. The lyrics are a little basic, but the nuance in Mendes’ song writing will come with age and experience. It is a quite good song, but some subtler lyrics would have made it great.

90 – Right Hand by Drake

88 – Money by 5 Seconds of Summer

87 – Jaded by Disclosure

68 – Zero by Chris Brown

Chris Brown is an artist who I have never seen the appeal of. He never had the charisma of Ne-Yo or the vocal talent of Usher. His latest single, Zero, jumps on the retro-synth pop/RnB trend. However, it isn’t very good. The production feels like a limp rip off of Get Lucky by Daft Punk. The lyrics, which are about rating girls and Chris Brown lamenting about one not being who she thought she was, are a little disgusting. This song epitomises what I don’t like about Chris Brown.

65 – Confident by Demi Lovato

45 – My Number 1 (Love Me Love Me Love Me) by Stylo G ft. Gyptian

36 – Infinity by One Direction

11 – Runnin’ (Lose It All) by Naughty Boy ft. Beyoncé and Arrow Benjamin

As a producer, Naughty Boy has always put his vocalists at the forefront of his tracks. Runnin’ (Lose It All) is no exception and I think this is his best track so far. The production matches the lyrics well, with a strong crescendo up to the chorus. However, it is again the vocals that stand out. While I will be looking forward to hearing more from Arrow Benjamin, Beyoncé is the stand out here. Her vocals never sound forced and just float over Naughty Boy’s tight production. This is how EDM should always be done.

7 – On My Mind by Ellie Goulding

Ellie Goulding started out with an indie pop aesthetic, before transitioning to more EDM inspired pop, but still keeping the grand melodies and big production of her earlier work. On My Mind goes even further down the electronic route, with choppy synths and 808’s making up the majority of this sparse instrumentation. The long melodies of songs like Lights and Guns and Horses are gone, replaced with a much choppier melodic line. Despite Goulding’s good vocals, in my opinion, On My Mind is my least favourite single of hers to date.

Best of the Week

Runnin’ (Lose It All) by Naughty Boy ft. Beyoncé and Arrow Benjamin

Worth a Listen

From Eden by Hozier

I Really Like You by Carly Rae Jepsen

Up by Olly Murs ft. Demi Lovato

I Didn’t Know My Own Strength by Whitney Houston

Confident by Demi Lovato

Wouldn’t Turn Off

Like I’m Gonna Lose You by Meghan Trainor ft. John Legend

Stiches by Shawn Mendes

Jaded by Disclosure

Would Turn Off

Right Hand by Drake

Money by 5 Seconds of Summer

My Number 1 (Love Me Love Me Love Me) by Stylo G ft. Gyptian

Infinity by One Direction

On My Mind by Ellie Goulding

Worst of the Week

Zero by Chris Brown

Leave a Reply

